Walking in the Footsteps of Seán Mac Diarmada

2018 Schedule of Events

  • This is the Catalogue of the display presented to Kilmainham Gaol on the 6th November 2016. Kilmainham Gaol Inventory of Sean Mac Diarmada Collection
    Link to Sean MacDiarmada 2017 Brocure

    All Day display of Exhibition of original copies of Seán Mac Diarmada’s 25 pages of rough notes and up to 40 pages of his hand written answers and returned corrections with comments from the night course ‘1904 Revised Programme of Examinations, Candidates for admission to Training School’. This is the first time these documents will be visible to the public.

    The rough notes consist of a number of single page short stories on the following subjects:

    • Composition exercise on English Colonies
    • Composition exercise on ‘English settling in Ireland’,
    • Composition exercise on ‘Colonies’,
    • Composition exercise on ‘Music’,
    • Composition exercise on ‘Highlands of Scotland and an meeting with the Queen,
    • Composition exercise on ‘a hare and a hawk’,
    • Composition exercise on Contrasting life between country and town youth,
    • Composition exercise on ‘Frost’,
    • Composition exercise on ‘The lion and the slave’,
    • Composition exercise on how the ‘Chinese fish’,
    • Composition exercise on ‘Sore eyes of an elephant’
    • Composition exercise on the ‘five great senses’,
    • Composition exercise on ‘Stone’,
    • Composition exercise on ‘God’s way is best’,
    • Pages of Rough work on maths,
    • Letter to his friend Thomas Cullen in Glasgow dated 3/11/1902,
    • Spellings.

    Up to 40 pages of Formal hand written answers submitted to the organisers of the Correspondence Course. These were returned graded with comments.

    These pages are comprised of:
    • Front and back page of 1904 Revised Programme of Examinations Candidates for admission to Training School.
    • History
    • English essays,
    • Music
    • Dictation
    • General Knowledge
    • Geography
    • Maths numerous pages on this subject.
    • Book Keeping
    • Spellings


  • Funders


  • Presentation by Eamonn ó Cuiv


    Born in Dublin, June 1950. Married to Áine Ní Choincheannain, with  three sons and one daughter. Educated Oatlands College, Mount Merrion, Dublin: UCD (BSc). Former Manager of a Gaeltacht Co-Operative involved in establishing local businesses including agricultural services, timber milling, tourism and cultural and social development.

  • Presentation by Mairead McGuinness


    Mairead McGuinness is the First Vice-President of the European Parliament and represents the Midlands-North-West constituency in Ireland.

    As First Vice-President, she oversees relations with national parliaments, in particular with the EU affairs committees of Member State parliaments.

    She has responsibility for the Parliament’s dialogue with religious and non-confessional organisations on EU policies and legislative proposals.

    Mairead is a member of the Parliament’s Agriculture and Rural Development Committee, the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee and the Constitutional Affairs Committee. An agricultural economist, her work focuses on the future shape of agriculture and rural development policies, global development policy, the environment, public health, and food safety and security.

    She is Vice-Chair of the Delegation to the EU-Montenegro Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee.

  • Presentation by Caoimhin O’Coilean


    Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin – Spokesperson on Disability Rights & Older People

    An elected representative since 1985, he was first returned as a Dáil Deputy in 1997.

    Caoimhghín was his party’s Dáil Leader from 2002 to 2011.

    Married to Briege, they have five children.

  • Presentation by George O’Malley


    George O’Malley

    George O’Malley was born and raised in Co. Mayo.

    He is an honours graduate in mathematics and the sciences, small-holder and forest owner with more than 10 years teaching experience at second and third levels in Ireland.

    He has in excess of 25 years national and international experience across Europe and Russia in the areas of forestry, natural resources, environment, sustainability, community, rural and SME development. He has co-ordinated and led several international projects and proposals throughout Europe from the Balkans to the Baltics up to €30 million.

    mayo advertiser